Write a letter to your MP now to support wind

Six years ago, 100 MPs wrote a letter to the then prime minister David Cameron protesting the spread of onshore wind - and now it’s banned. So we decided to ask the constituents of these MPs what they thought about onshore wind. And guess what? A whopping 74% of people living in the MPs’ constituencies support onshore wind.

We’ve collected a list of all the MPs who signed that letter opposing onshore wind. If your MP is on our list, write them an email using our two easy steps.

  1. Check our list - is your MP on it? We’ve listed them with their constituency name in alphabetical order. If you don’t know who your MP is, use this website to find them using your postcode.

  2. Write to them. Tell them why you support onshore wind and they should too. Use our email writing tips as a starting point - but make it personal to you. Make sure you include your address so they know you’re a constituent.

If your MP isn’t on our list, will you share the news that wind is popular and MPs are out of touch? The more people that know, the more who can hold MPs to account.


MP name

Email address


Guto Bebb

Altrincham and Sale West

Graham Brady

Amber Valley

Nigel Mills


Bob Stewart

Blackpool North and Cleveleys

Paul Maynard


David Tredinnick

Bridgwater and West Somerset

Ian Liddell-Grainger

Brigg and Goole

Andrew Percy


Charles Walker


Andrew Griffiths

Calder Valley

Craig Whittaker


John Stevenson

Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire

Simon Hart

Central Suffolk and North Ipswich

Dr. Daniel Poulter

Chatham and Aylesford

Tracey Crouch


Christopher Chope


Martin Vickers


Chris Heaton-Harris

East Antrim

Sammy Wilson

East Yorkshire

Greg Knight

Filton & Bradley Stoke

Jack Lopresti

Folkestone and Hythe

Damian Collins


Edward Leigh


Caroline Dinenage


Adam Holloway

Great Yarmouth

Haltemprice and Howden

David Davis

Harrow East

Bob Blackman

Harwich and North Essex

Bernard Jenkin


Philip Hollobone

Mid Bedfordshire

Nadine Dorries

Mid Derbyshire

Pauline Latham

Mid Sussex

Nicholas Soames

Milton Keynes South

Iain Stewart

Morecambe and Lunesdale

David Morris

New Forest East

Julian Lewis

Julian Lewis prefers to be contacted by post or phone - House of Commons, Westminster, London SW1A 0AA or  020-7219 4179

North East Cambridgeshire

Steven Barclay

North East Hertfordshire

Oliver Heald

North East Somerset

Jacob Rees-Mogg

North Swindon

Justin Tomlinson

North West Leicestershire

Andrew Bridgen

North Wiltshire

James Gray


Marcus Jones

Penrith and The Border

Rory Stewart


Andrew Rosindell

Romsey and Southampton North

Caroline Nokes


John Glen


Mark Spencer


Philip Davies

South Derbyshire

Heather Wheeler

South Dorset

Richard Drax

South Norfolk

Richard Bacon

South Northamptonshire

Andrea Leadsom

St Albans

Anne Main


Jeremy Lefroy

Staffordshire Moorlands

Karen Bradley


Stephen McPartland


Bill Cash


Nadhim Zahawi


Christopher Pincher

The Wrekin

Mark Pritchard


Jackie Doyle-Price

Tiverton and Honiton

Neil Parish

Torridge and West Devon

Geoffrey Cox

Truro and Falmouth

Sarah Newton

Vale of Glamorgan

Alun Cairns


Richard Harrington


Peter Bone

West Suffolk

Matt Hancock


Steve Brine

Wyre Forest

Mark Garnier

York Outer

Julian Sturdy

Email writing tips

  • Remind your MP they signed a letter in 2012 that called for cuts to government support for onshore wind - and that, as a result, onshore wind has been blocked since 2015.

  • Let them know about our new polling, which was conducted across the 79 constituencies of the MPs who signed the letter - including your constituency. You could mention that 74% of respondents said they support onshore wind, and 73% would be happy to have wind turbines within five miles of their home.

  • Tell them why you’re one of the 74% of people living in your constituency who supports onshore wind.  

  • Remind them that over the three years onshore wind has been blocked, it has become the cheapest source of new-build energy - and is now cheaper than new gas, nuclear and coal.

  • Ask them to write to Greg Clark, Secretary of State for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS), urging him to undo the blocks so that new onshore wind can be built across the UK.

  • If you want to send them some extra information on public support for onshore wind, you can direct them to our new briefing.