Letter from MPs of all parties to the Prime Minister

Dear Prime Minister

Onshore Wind Energy

We are delighted that you have pledged to ensure that the UK achieves net zero greenhouse gas emissions before 2050. Onshore wind energy is vital to achieving this at least cost.

Onshore wind is the cheapest new source of energy in the UK today - and the UK is the windiest country in Europe. Wind has great potential to benefit our local communities, our economy and our environment. New government policy is now needed to realise these benefits.

Onshore wind can play a key role in an ambitious industrial strategy delivering clean, cheap and smart energy to businesses and consumers alike. As well as being the cheapest new energy source, clean or otherwise, there is welcome excitement expressed by energy industry companies, both small and large, about the growth opportunities that onshore wind presents.

Furthermore, onshore wind energy is vital to our aim of achieving our climate targets at least cost and the inspiring vision of a before-2050 net zero greenhouse gas emissions target.

Local communities also stand to benefit. New onshore wind developments mean the opportunity to lock in local investment for our villages, towns and cities and to guarantee local revenue sharing through proven business models.

Public support across the country for onshore wind is large. Government statistics show that 79% of people now support onshore wind - fifteen times the proportion opposed. In addition to this, two thirds of people are supportive of turbines within five miles of their home. Yet this high public support is not widely known.

What we are asking for is a level playing field, so that communities that do want onshore wind are able to have them. Concern where new turbines are proposed should be addressed. We believe in local democratic decision making. Applications for new wind turbines should face a fair and reasonable local planning process and be treated in the same way as other renewable or low carbon energy.

To realise these benefits for consumers, businesses and communities our planning and financial frameworks need updating in order to ensure that onshore wind is given the fair opportunity it deserves within our energy mix.

We therefore ask that:

  • The National Planning Policy Framework is amended so that applications for small-scale onshore wind developments in England of no more than five megawatts are treated in the same way as any other application for renewable and low carbon energy.

  • Onshore wind is allowed to lower power prices through the resumption of competitive electricity market auctions for low carbon energy for the cheapest technologies.

Yours sincerely,

Bim Afolami MP

Peter Aldous MP

Rushanara Ali MP

Heidi Allen MP

Tonia Antoniazzi MP

Ian Austin MP

Kevin Barron MP

Hilary Benn MP

Luciana Berger MP

Mhairi Black MP

Roberta Blackman-Woods MP

Paul Blomfield MP

Ben Bradley MP

Benjamin Bradshaw MP

Tom Brake MP

Deidre Brock MP

Alan Brown MP

Fiona Bruce MP

Karen Buck MP

Dawn Butler MP

Vince Cable MP

Ruth Cadbury MP

Ronnie Campbell MP

Alistair Carmichael MP

Maria Caulfield MP

Alex Chalk MP

Sarah Champion MP

Douglas Chapman MP

Jenny Chapman MP

Bambos Charalambous MP

Simon Clarke MP

Ann Clwyd MP

Rosie Cooper MP

Ronnie Cowan MP

David Crausby MP

Jon Cruddas MP

John Cryer MP

Jim Cunningham MP

Janet Daby MP

Ed Davey MP

Geraint Davies MP

Martyn Day MP

Thangam Debbonaire MP

Anneliese Dodds MP

Jeffrey Donaldson MP

Nadine Dorries MP

David Drew MP

Rosie Duffield MP

Jonathan Edwards MP

Clive Efford MP

Paul Farrelly MP

Tim Farron MP

Frank Field MP

Jim Fitzpatrick MP

Caroline Flint MP

Vicky Ford MP

Yvonne Fovargue MP

James Frith MP

Barry Gardiner MP

Mark Garnier MP

Ruth George MP

Preet Gill MP

Roger Godsiff MP

Zac Goldsmith MP

Richard Graham MP

Damian Green MP

Kate Green MP

Lilian Greenwood MP

John Grogan MP

Louise Haigh MP

Robert Halfon MP

David Hanson MP

Emma Hardy MP

Helen Hayes MP

Oliver Heald MP

Gordon Henderson MP

Mark Hendrick MP

Drew Hendry MP

Wera Hobhouse MP

Kevin Hollinrake MP

John Howell MP

Eddie Hughes MP

Rupa Huq MP

Christine Jardine MP

Darren Jones MP

Susan Jones MP

Graham Jones MP

Peter Kyle MP

Ben Lake MP

David Lammy MP

Jeremy Lefroy MP

Emma Lewell-Buck MP

Ivan Lewis MP

Clive Lewis MP

Stephen Lloyd MP

Tim Loughton MP

Caroline Lucas MP

Ian Lucas MP

Rachel Maclean MP

Anne Main MP

Seema Malhotra MP

Gordon Marsden MP

Sandy Martin MP

Rachael Maskell MP

Chris Matheson MP

Steve McCabe MP

Kerry McCarthy MP

Siobhain McDonagh MP

Stuart McDonald MP

Catherine McKinnell MP

Patrick McLoughlin MP

Anna McMorrin MP

John McNally MP

Carol Monaghan MP

Damien Moore MP

Layla Moran MP

Ian Murray MP

Sarah Newton MP

Jared O'Mara MP

Matthew Offord MP

Mike Penning MP

Toby Perkins MP

Rebecca Pow MP

Mark Prisk MP

Faisal Rashid MP

Danielle Rowley MP

Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP

Liz Saville Roberts MP

Andrew Selous MP

Virendra Sharma MP

Barry Sheerman MP

Tommy Sheppard MP

Gavin Shuker MP

Tulip Siddiq MP

Cat Smith MP

Jeff Smith MP

Laura Smith MP

Eleanor Smith MP

Alex Sobel MP

Caroline Spelman MP

Jamie Stone MP

Jo Swinson MP

Mark Tami MP

Derek Thomas MP

Gareth Thomas MP

Stephen Timms MP

Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP

Anna Turley MP

Derek Twigg MP

Stephen Twigg MP

Keith Vaz MP

Thelma Walker MP

David Warburton MP

Catherine West MP

Matt Western MP

Alan Whitehead MP

Sarah Wollaston MP

William Wragg MP

Mohammad Yasin MP

Daniel Zeichner MP

Organisations supporting the letter

Town-and-Country-Planning-Association copy.png
Sandbag New logo grey.png

This campaign is being run jointly by Power for People and 10:10 Climate Action.